Make your own free website on

Albert County, New Brunswick



So where is Albert County?

When New Brunswick was established in 1784, it was divided into eight counties. As the population grew the original counties were divided and new counties set up; the final complement is 15. These counties are subdivided into civil parishes similar to American townships.

Albert County is located in southeastern New Brunswick. It is bounded by St. John, Kings and Westmorland Counties and the Bay of Fundy.

Albert County was separated from Westmorland County in 1845 and includes the parishes of Hopewell and Hillsborough, (created in 1786); part of the parish of Salisbury, (created in 1787); Coverdale, (separated from Hillsborough in 1828); and Harvey, (separated from Hopewell) and a small part of St. John County in 1838. When Albert County was formed, Elgin was erected from Salisbury. Alma separated from Harvey in 1855.

History of Albert Co. as taken from Marriage Register Albert Co. 1846-1887 by Ken Kanner and V. "Bing" Geldart.

Map of New Brunswick with History of Counties.

Nearby Areas

Can't find who you're researching? Could be that they moved to one of the surrounding counties:

And if that doesn't work, perhaps the search should be expanded:


Comments? Corrections? Info to share?

Back to Albert Co. Main Page

This site maintained by

Visit Our site on Albert County and Fundy National Park

This Site was last updated: March 19, 2002 06:07:48 PM